Top Five Friday: Songs of 2013

Used to be, I was “up” on movies. I knew what was playing, who was in it, and went to see the things with some frequency.  Now, my movie watching experience is pretty much relegated to the latest Disney/animated kid flick with the very occasional (more like sporadic) date night movie.  So this year (and probably many more to come), I can’t in all good honesty put together a top five movie list.  I can, however, give you my take on the top five tunes of this past year.  Movies might be a no go, but music – well, that’s almost always playing in my house or car.  So here they are, in no particular order – my Top Five Songs of 2013.

Hurricane – MS MR

It’s hard to put a finger on what this song actually is; it’s not strictly pop or rock, not techno, definitely has some alternative backing to it.  But to try to pin this one in a specific category is tricky.  No matter.  It’s got a catchy beat beneath a rich vocalization of simple lyrics addressing lack of self-worth and self confidence.  Sorry to say, I was not impressed with the rest of the album, but this one should be on my daily playlist for some time to come.

Reflektor – Arcade Fire

I wrote about this one earlier this year, not long after it started getting airplay in the Western New York area.  This still sounds like updated disco with some French lyrics and a hint of a disconnect-despite-the-digital-age theme thrown in.  Clocking in at over seven minutes, this is a satisfying chunk of ear candy.

Temple – Kings of Leon 

Kings of Leon is slowly growing on me; I’ve enjoyed “Mechanical Bull” that’s brought us such cool tunes as “Supersoaker” and “Temple.”  “Temple” gets the edge to make it into my top five list, probably because it’s proof you don’t need a ton of words to make a point: I feel all amiss now / I’m tossed in the scatter / And your eyes keep on shifting / To the boys that don’t matter.  Well, that and it’s undeniably catchy.  And it hammers home an almost universal point: we all just want to be noticed, right? 

Radioactive – Imagine Dragons

There are a lot of movies and books that take on the topic of an apocalypse; “Radioactive” now gives us reflections on the end of the world in three minutes.  You could just not get away from this song earlier this year, and, if you are anything like me, you didn’t want to.  Don’t tell me you didn’t have your windows down over the summer, blasting this, singing “Welcome to the new age . . . I’m radioactive, radioactive.”  Welcome to the new age, indeed. 

Suit & Tie – Justin Timberlake 

It seems like the song most likely to make a “best of” list this year is JT’s “Mirrors.”  I prefer this swanky gem.  I should admit that I’m not a huge JT music fan; no doubt, he’s uber talented, but I can (and usually do) pass on his music.  This song is the exception.  I first heard (and saw) this song performed on SNL earlier this year and have been in love with it ever since.  It’s got a little bit of everything: undertones of a big band sound, a sounds-super-cool rap (or whatever it’s called – I’m a suburban white gal who is so not hip on the lingo) by Jaz-Z, enough bass to make it sound cool, and a beat that makes it hard to sit still. 

And because what’s a top five without a sixth song . . .

Out of My League – Fitz & the Tantrums

An honorable mention this year is this little poppy tune that’s just plain fun.  This totally recalls do-wop tunes, giving it a fresh update and waxing poetic on finding a significant other who’s just the perfect fit.  Another plus: the whole album (More Than Just a Dream) is super fun and worth a listen.

How about you?  What was heating up your earbuds this year? 

Leave a Reply

