Link

My First Post About My First Book!

So back in November 2011, I decided to throw my hat into the novel-writing ring and attempt to pen something other than short articles or snippets of scenes. I was inspired by a mother of seven (yes, seven!) children at our church who had done something called NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) before. Successfully. With seven kiddos to take care of.

Now me, I only have two children, twin girls who, at the time, were five years of age. And I had been wanting a write a book forever; in fact, I had started what I jokingly/lovingly called “my bestseller” when I was a tween (and then subjected my dear friends to my hormonal teenage version of a bodice-ripper . . . but that’s a different story for a different day).

Anyway, I thought I had no excuse not to write one, or attempt to write one. So I sat down one cold November evening and proceeded to hammer out what I thought was a great opening scene for a historical romance. And then I re-wrote the scene. And again, this time in first person, just to try that hat on for size. Somewhere in the next week or so, I tried to pen a few other scenes for my historical romance, did some light research about pre-Civil War era Ray County, Missouri, and waited for my very own writing frenzy fairy to strike me over the head with her word wand.

Well, it didn’t happen.

At least, not for that novel.

What did happen, though, was a snippet – just a snippet, mind you – of another scene. It involved a fight between a present day couple, and the man attempting to make up/ communicate his feelings / whatever with an extraordinary flower. A rose, to be exact. So I put a few words down with this idea in mind. (Stay tuned: there is a really cool story about this rose that I’ll share at a later date!)

And then, the opening scene came to me – a young woman stranded in a Buffalo, New York, snowstorm in a frozen car. The word fairy struck. I typed that scene out very fast, and, before I could convince myself not to, I emailed it to my sister-in-law.

And sat on pins and needles, holding my breath, until she wrote back.

She loved it. After letting out a huge sigh of relief, I then proceeded to sketch out a love story – so much different than that historical I’d envisioned.

To make a long story even longer, I finished it sometime at the end of last year (writing here and there when I had time), entered it on a whim into Ellechor Publishing House’s Avant-Garde Manuscript Contest, and thought it would never see the light of day.

Guess what, folks that I haven’t lost and who are still plowing through with this crazy blog post – I won. I should probably give that a couple of exclamation points. I won that contest!!! And a traditional publishing contract courtesy of Ellechor!

I couldn’t be happier. Truly. Look for “All In” sometime in November 2014, and check back for more posts with dazzling insights into the novel, dazzling insights about yours truly, and other fun stuff. Buckle up, everyone . . . this is going to be a great ride!

4 thoughts on “My First Post About My First Book!

  1. Hope says:

    Soooooo excited for you, sissy-in-law!! LOVE your first entry here….make sure you give us plenty more! Can’t wait to read your {ahem} PUBLISHED book All In!! 😀

Leave a Reply

